Tag Archives: Penguin Random House

You Need To Read This When You’re Feeling Sick #Giveaway


Seems like everyone had been sick this winter, it is all I see when scrolling my Facebook feed. Given that, I think this blog tour for When You’re Feeling Sick by Coy Bowles could not have come at a better time!

They say laughter is the best medicine and this laugh-out-loud picture book by the guitarist for the Grammy Award-winning Zac Brown Band, will have sick little ones feeling better fast!

The book is full of encouraging, rhyming advice on how to get through sick days with courage and a positive attitude. It truly is, just what the doctor ordered! It comes with a sheet of stickers that will make sick little ones smile. There are even feel better songs to keep the germs away!

We have more happy news, you can enter to win a copy of this great book below in our giveaway!

Giveaway

Penguin Random House is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own copy of When You’re Feeling Sick! Thank you to Penguin Random House  for the review book and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!!  Open to US residents.

When You’re Feeling Sick Book Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

Continue reading



2 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Books, Giveaway, Review

“Appleblossom the Possum” by Holly Goldberg Sloan-Book Giveaway!

We are a book loving family and I want to share a great book for kids in middle school grades to read on their own or for parents to read aloud to younger kids, as we are doing. The book is Appleblossom The Possum by Holly Goldberg Sloan and it is illustrated by Gary Rosen.

Appleblossum The Possum

This book is so interesting and charming, I am not sure who loved it more, me or my kids! Throughout the story information about possums is weaved through and I was amazed at some of the things I learned. The story begins with Mama possum having to teach her possum children about the world. There are rules to follow, real danger to avoid and adventures in that great big world! Take a look INSIDE THE BOOKHERE!

You can read an excerpt HERE!

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it’s time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they’re about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial’s point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

PRAISE FOR APPLEBLOSSOM THE POSSUM:

  • “Sloan has masterfully created an intensely satisfying and humorous tale that makes possums seem utterly adorable. Rosen’s charming illustrations pair beautifully with the text, as he draws the possums with intertwined tails, pink noses, and vivid expressions.” —School Library Journal
  • “Insights about possums add an educational element to this otherwise comic adventure, while humorous illustrations capture the wee possums’ antics and personalities. A warm and funny possum-family saga.”—Kirkus Reviews
  • “Holly Goldberg Sloan knows how to write a story for young people, with a style that’s easily accessible and entertaining for new readers. Her latest book, Appleblossom the Possum, is no exception….Appleblossom the Possum is a fun read, and the illustrations are a perfect accompaniment to the lighthearted story.” – BookPage
  • “Readers will enjoy both the realistic details of a newborn possum making her way to her mother’s pouch, and the fanciful view of adult possums’ urban nightlife, complete with rooftop music and a conga line. Best of all is the consistent, convincing presentation of Appleblossom’s perspective. Throughout the book, lively black, gray, and pink illustrations portray characters and events. With wide-spaced lines of fairly large type, this attractive book will engage young readers intrigued by animals.” – Booklist
  • “Rosen’s pink-tinged images bring a playfulness to many of the scenes. Amid the homey message that family matters most, Sloan seeds the story with assorted possum facts and vocabulary lessons, but it’s the possum-as-actor metaphor (“Playing dead is one thing. But smellingdead is another. It adds a whole other layer to a possum performance”) that generates the most fun.” – Publishers Weekly

Penguin Random House Logo

GIVEAWAY:

Penguin Random House is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own copy of  Appleblossom The Possum. Thank you Penguin Random House for the review copy and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!!  Open to US residents.

AppleBlossom The Possum Book Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

Continue reading


8 Comments

Filed under Books, Giveaway, kids, Review

Add This Book To Your Young Reader’s Summer Reading List-Book Giveaway

In New York we still have several weeks of school left.  I know that in the southern states some schools are letting the kids out for summer this Friday!  No better time to start thinking about some great summer reading books for kids. Reading keeps kids entertained, their reading skills sharp and fuels their imagination. I have a great book I want to tell you about that may be one you want to add to your child’s summer reading list. Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.

Penguin Random House Logo

UNUSUAL CHICKENS FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL POULTRY FARMER

Unusual Chickens Book

by Kelly Jones; illustrated by Katie Kath

Sophie Brown and her family have inherited her dead uncle’s farm—a place vastly different from her familiar hometown of LA. Due to her family’s lack of funds, though, operating a fully functioning farm is out of the question. But what happens when the farm animals come to them? Sophie begins to see chickens—very unusual chickens—appearing on her land. She chronicles their activity and her challenges in a series of fun-to-read letters to her deceased relatives. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe. Readers will become immersed in the narrator’s honest and endearing tone. Young readers will root for Sophie and her chickens until the very last page. UNUSUAL CHICKENS is an original, clucky classic in the making.

chicken 2

About The Author:

KELLY JONES has been a librarian, a bookseller, and a teacher, and is currently a raiser of (much-loved but fairly ordinary) chickens. Now she has published her first middle-grade novel, UNUSUAL CHICKENS FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL POULTRY FARMER (On sale May 12, 2015 / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers / $16.99). Written entirely in letters, to-do lists, and quizzes, with several black-and-white drawings, this is a quirky story of a determined, strong-willed girl with some very unusual super chickens.

chicken

Giveaway:

Penguin Random House is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own copy of Unusual Chickens For The Exceptional Poultry Farmer. Thank you Penguin Random House for the review book  and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!!  Open to US residents.

Unusual Chickens For The Exceptional Poultry Farmer Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

Continue reading


3 Comments

Filed under Books, Giveaway, kids