Tag Archives: Middle School

Welcome To Wonderland 2: Beach Party Surf Monkey-Blog Book Tour & Giveaway


Just in time for summer reading, Welcome To Wonderland 2:Beach Party Surf Monkey  the second book in this new illustrated series by Chris Grabenstein, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Olympics.

P.T. and Gloria are back with a diverse cast of characters in this entertaining middle grade paper over board series filled with madcap escapades that kids will not want to put down. 

There’s always something wacky happening when you live at a motel, and P. T. Wilkie has grown up at the world’s wackiest one yet! When word gets out that the hottest teen idols in Hollywood will be filming their next movie-BEACH PARTY SURF MONKEY-right in St. Pete’s Beach, P.T. and Gloria know that Wonderland would be the PERFECT location.

Now they just have to convince the producers! But when things start to go wrong (Crazed fans? Missing stars?!) it will take all of Gloria’s business genius and P.T.’s wild stories to save the movie before the movie AND the Wonderland are both all washed up!

Read an excerpt HERE!

We love this book and it is not one you will be begging your kids to pick up, more than likely, you will need to beg them to put it down when it is time for dinner or bed. Keep them reading and engaged over the summer with this exciting adventure.

We want to add some excitement to your summer with a great giveaway. You can enter for a chance to win your own paper over board copy of this book below.

Giveaway:

Random House Kids is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings. One lucky blog reader will win their own hardcover copy of Welcome To Wonderland 2: Beach Party Surf Monkey! Thank you to Random House Kids for the review book and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!! Open to US residents.

Welcome To Wonderland 2: Beach Party Surf Monkey Book Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Good Luck!!!

Continue reading



1 Comment

Filed under Blog Tour, Books, Giveaway, Review

Humor, Heart, Loss, Triumph, Friendship, Family, and Love Come Together on the Pages of “LEMONS”– #Giveaway

I am sure you are probably familiar with the saying; “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” That is the something that 9-year old Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her. While Lem would like to do just that, it seems impossible that she could ever make lemonade out of moving to Willow Creek, California.

Willow Creek is a tiny town filled with tall pines instead of skyscrapers, and a Bigfoot lurking in the woods. Lem wanted to stay in San Francisco after her mama died with her friends, school and everything she loved. Instead, she was forced to go and live with the grandfather she never even met. 

Things seem pretty bad but then Lem meets 11-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, the two set out on an epic adventure to capture the elusive creature on film.

In the end, Lem and Tobin’s big discovery ends up being more earth-shattering than they ever dreamed. Best of all, Lem learns that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all. 

Humor, heart, loss, triumph, friendship, family, and love all come together to create the pages of LEMONS.

 About The Author:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book is written by debut author Melissa Savage, a writer and a child and family therapist. This is a classic middle grade novel in the vein of Kate DiCamillo, Rebecca Stead, and Patricia Reilly Giff. Her desire to write purposeful, issue-driven books for young people, coupled with her interest in cryptozoology and the mystery of Bigfoot, inspired her to write LemonsSet during the summer of 1975 in California, this is one of those novels that you want to immediately read again after finishing. Savage wrote LEMONS partly to overcome her own grief after losing her son at the age of 9 months in 2012.

The Tobin character in the book is named after her own son because she wanted him to remain a part of this world. The character Tobin is what she imagined her son would grow up to be. Stoic and brave, as he was, but also scientific like his dad and as big a fan of Bigfoot and cryptozoology as his mommy! Melissa knows that losing someone you love is an extremely tough lemon, as Lem experiences in the story and she struggles with how to make lemonade again.  For Melissa sharing her son’s name and spirit with children all over the world is one of the ways she has learned to make her own lemonade. You can read an excerpt HERE.

When asked what she hopes readers take away with them after reading Lemons, Melissa answered, “Hope, first and foremost.” She wants them to know that there is hope and healing in the world, even after dealing with tough lemons, if you choose it and surround yourself with gratitude and people who love you. She also hopes that readers will take away a renewed acceptance of those who are different from them. Lastly, she adds, ” A newfound interest in cryptozoology!” You can learn more about Melissa HERE.

Great Summer Read

With summer coming this is a perfect read for kids, their parents, teachers and more! We are having a giveaway below where you can enter for your chance to win a copy of this middle-grade novel.

Giveaway:

Penguin Random House Publishing  is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own hardcover copy of Lemons! Thank you to Penguin Random House for the review Novel and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!! Open to US residents.

Hardcover Copy of Lemons Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

Continue reading


17 Comments

Filed under Books, Family, Giveaway, kids, Life, Review

“Appleblossom the Possum” by Holly Goldberg Sloan-Book Giveaway!

We are a book loving family and I want to share a great book for kids in middle school grades to read on their own or for parents to read aloud to younger kids, as we are doing. The book is Appleblossom The Possum by Holly Goldberg Sloan and it is illustrated by Gary Rosen.

Appleblossum The Possum

This book is so interesting and charming, I am not sure who loved it more, me or my kids! Throughout the story information about possums is weaved through and I was amazed at some of the things I learned. The story begins with Mama possum having to teach her possum children about the world. There are rules to follow, real danger to avoid and adventures in that great big world! Take a look INSIDE THE BOOKHERE!

You can read an excerpt HERE!

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it’s time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they’re about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial’s point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

PRAISE FOR APPLEBLOSSOM THE POSSUM:

  • “Sloan has masterfully created an intensely satisfying and humorous tale that makes possums seem utterly adorable. Rosen’s charming illustrations pair beautifully with the text, as he draws the possums with intertwined tails, pink noses, and vivid expressions.” —School Library Journal
  • “Insights about possums add an educational element to this otherwise comic adventure, while humorous illustrations capture the wee possums’ antics and personalities. A warm and funny possum-family saga.”—Kirkus Reviews
  • “Holly Goldberg Sloan knows how to write a story for young people, with a style that’s easily accessible and entertaining for new readers. Her latest book, Appleblossom the Possum, is no exception….Appleblossom the Possum is a fun read, and the illustrations are a perfect accompaniment to the lighthearted story.” – BookPage
  • “Readers will enjoy both the realistic details of a newborn possum making her way to her mother’s pouch, and the fanciful view of adult possums’ urban nightlife, complete with rooftop music and a conga line. Best of all is the consistent, convincing presentation of Appleblossom’s perspective. Throughout the book, lively black, gray, and pink illustrations portray characters and events. With wide-spaced lines of fairly large type, this attractive book will engage young readers intrigued by animals.” – Booklist
  • “Rosen’s pink-tinged images bring a playfulness to many of the scenes. Amid the homey message that family matters most, Sloan seeds the story with assorted possum facts and vocabulary lessons, but it’s the possum-as-actor metaphor (“Playing dead is one thing. But smellingdead is another. It adds a whole other layer to a possum performance”) that generates the most fun.” – Publishers Weekly

Penguin Random House Logo

GIVEAWAY:

Penguin Random House is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own copy of  Appleblossom The Possum. Thank you Penguin Random House for the review copy and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!!  Open to US residents.

AppleBlossom The Possum Book Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

Continue reading


8 Comments

Filed under Books, Giveaway, kids, Review