Humor, Heart, Loss, Triumph, Friendship, Family, and Love Come Together on the Pages of “LEMONS”– #Giveaway

I am sure you are probably familiar with the saying; “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” That is the something that 9-year old Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her. While Lem would like to do just that, it seems impossible that she could ever make lemonade out of moving to Willow Creek, California.

Willow Creek is a tiny town filled with tall pines instead of skyscrapers, and a Bigfoot lurking in the woods. Lem wanted to stay in San Francisco after her mama died with her friends, school and everything she loved. Instead, she was forced to go and live with the grandfather she never even met. 

Things seem pretty bad but then Lem meets 11-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, the two set out on an epic adventure to capture the elusive creature on film.

In the end, Lem and Tobin’s big discovery ends up being more earth-shattering than they ever dreamed. Best of all, Lem learns that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all. 

Humor, heart, loss, triumph, friendship, family, and love all come together to create the pages of LEMONS.

 About The Author:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book is written by debut author Melissa Savage, a writer and a child and family therapist. This is a classic middle grade novel in the vein of Kate DiCamillo, Rebecca Stead, and Patricia Reilly Giff. Her desire to write purposeful, issue-driven books for young people, coupled with her interest in cryptozoology and the mystery of Bigfoot, inspired her to write LemonsSet during the summer of 1975 in California, this is one of those novels that you want to immediately read again after finishing. Savage wrote LEMONS partly to overcome her own grief after losing her son at the age of 9 months in 2012.

The Tobin character in the book is named after her own son because she wanted him to remain a part of this world. The character Tobin is what she imagined her son would grow up to be. Stoic and brave, as he was, but also scientific like his dad and as big a fan of Bigfoot and cryptozoology as his mommy! Melissa knows that losing someone you love is an extremely tough lemon, as Lem experiences in the story and she struggles with how to make lemonade again.  For Melissa sharing her son’s name and spirit with children all over the world is one of the ways she has learned to make her own lemonade. You can read an excerpt HERE.

When asked what she hopes readers take away with them after reading Lemons, Melissa answered, “Hope, first and foremost.” She wants them to know that there is hope and healing in the world, even after dealing with tough lemons, if you choose it and surround yourself with gratitude and people who love you. She also hopes that readers will take away a renewed acceptance of those who are different from them. Lastly, she adds, ” A newfound interest in cryptozoology!” You can learn more about Melissa HERE.

Great Summer Read

With summer coming this is a perfect read for kids, their parents, teachers and more! We are having a giveaway below where you can enter for your chance to win a copy of this middle-grade novel.

Giveaway:

Penguin Random House Publishing  is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own hardcover copy of Lemons! Thank you to Penguin Random House for the review Novel and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!! Open to US residents.

Hardcover Copy of Lemons Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

17 Comments

Filed under Books, Family, Giveaway, kids, Life, Review

17 Responses to Humor, Heart, Loss, Triumph, Friendship, Family, and Love Come Together on the Pages of “LEMONS”– #Giveaway

  1. Carl

    I’d probably enjoy Zootopia. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I hear it’s very good.

  2. Shannon Baas

    I like zootopia.

  3. vera wilson

    The Forever Garden should be a nice one.

  4. bill norris

    One vote, Two votes

  5. Donna Clifford

    Windfall

  6. susan smoaks

    i would like to get the 5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

  7. Ed

    “Duck & Goose”!

  8. Christal M

    Brave New Girl

  9. Denise Sachs

    I like, Jake the Fake Keeps It Real.

  10. shawna

    I would like The Go-Between.

  11. jeremy mclaughlin

    Backyard Bugs.

  12. Philip Lawrence

    I like “All That I Can Be”.

  13. Leela

    Ultimate Sticker Book: Disney Zootopia.

  14. Stephanie Liske

    O I like the All That I Can Be
    By Written and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
    Recommended for 3-7 years.

  15. Sand

    I like All That I Can Be.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge