Summer Reading Pick-“A Clatter of Jars” by Lisa Graff- #Giveaway

If you’re looking for a summer reading book for your middle grade child or a book you can read aloud a chapter at a time as  I like to do with my kids, A Clatter of Jars by Lisa Graff might be a perfect fit. Set in a town near me, Poughkeepsie, New York,  this book takes place at Camp Atropos. This camp for talented kids might just be a recipe for disaster!

A Clatter of Jars is the companion book to A Tangle of Knots. For the kids heading off to Camp Atropos, it should be a summer filled with campfires, sing-a-longs, swimming in the lake and of course a place to practice for the Talent Show. However, it just might not turn out that way because the camp director wants to keep the real reason they are at the camp a secret and she will do almost anything to keep it that way.

a clatter of jars

The tiny peanut butter jar that was dropped to the bottom of the lake hit a rock on the way down opening the lid and letting out the talent that was inside. Now all kinds of strange things are happening and every day dozens of seemingly empty jars are washing up on the shore. This causes all kinds of chaos for the campers, talents get swapped, memories traded and no one knows why!

This camp full of kids, lake full of magic and a camp director full of secrets makes for a wonderful read! A Clatter of Jars is a story about summer, family, and the depths they go to win back the ones they love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson’s The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar’s Holes .

I am reading this book with my kids a chapter at a time and they are really enjoying it. I like that special time  spent sharing a book like this in the evening.

Penguin Young Readers Group is sponsoring a giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!  One lucky blog reader will win their own hardcover copy of A Clatter of Jars!  Thank you to Penguin Young Readers Group for the review book and for sponsoring this fantastic giveaway on Mommy Ramblings!!!  Open to US residents.

A Clatter of Jars by Lisa Graff Book Giveaway on Mommy Ramblings Rules:

Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good Luck!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Summer Reading

8 Responses to Summer Reading Pick-“A Clatter of Jars” by Lisa Graff- #Giveaway

  1. Nancy

    I’d also like to read their newly released book Barons of the Beltway.

  2. Jennifer Rogers

    The BFG! By RoAld Dahl

  3. Fiona N

    I also would love to read the Richard Scarry’s Best Picture Dictionary Ever
    Thank You for the chance

  4. Leela

    Doodletopia Manga.

  5. Jenny Q.

    I would like to read Since she went away by David Bell.

  6. Angela Saver

    I’d love to get The Girl in the Spider’s Web!

  7. Rivka

    I’m thinking of Daisy-Head Maisy.

  8. Ken C

    I want to read Shadows of the Dark Crystal #1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge